UPSU SSTAR Awards 2021 - The Winners



The SSTAR Awards stands for Student Staff Teaching and Representation Awards. They are the chance for students and staff to show their appreciation for someone who has made a difference to their University experience this year. This could be a caring personal tutor, an engaged course rep, an inspiring lecturer or an individual who champions equality and diversity.


Watch the awards:


You can Skip to the relevent award using the chapters at the bottom of the video

Why is it important?


This year more than ever it’s important for us to recognise those individuals who went above and beyond in their role to support students. We know that the year has not been easy for anyone, but we want to highlight the people who went out of their way to make it better for others.

These awards are incredibly powerful, whether your nominee wins or not, your words can mean so much to that person. Because knowing you have made a difference for at least one person can really mean the world.


- Emi Dowse - VP Education 2020/21


This year, to keep in line with the COVID-19 restrictions and to keep our staff, students and local community safe, we have decided to run our SSTAR Awards digitally, celebrating with the nominees online. 



Postgraduate Supervisor of the Year Award

This award goes to a Postgraduate supervisor to recognize their contribution to your academic experience.

  • Nuria Bonet, School of Humanities and Performing Arts - Winner
  • Mona Nasser, Peninsula Dental - Highly Commended


Programme Leader of the Year

This award is for a Programme Lead who has made a recognisable difference to your experience within your Programme.

Faculty of Arts, Humanities & Business

  • Christopher Booth, Art, Design and Architecture - Overall Winner
  • Andy Humphreys, Art, Design and Architecture - Faculty Highly Commended

Faculty of Health

  • Louise Alldridge, Peninsula Medical - Faculty Winner
  • William Beare, Peninsula Dental - Faculty Highly Commended

Faculty of Science & Engineering

  • Timothy Scott, Biological and Marine Sciences - Faculty Winner
  • Katherine Herborn, Biological and Marine Sciences - Faculty Highly Commended


Mel Joyner Award for Championing Equality and Diversity

Awarded to an individual or individuals who really put equality, diversity and inclusion at the heart of everything that they do.

  • Meltem Osman, Homen Chow, Kevin Beckles and Chelsea Church, School of Psychology - Winners
  • Kamran Ali, Peninsula Dental - Highly Commended


Personal Tutor of the Year

The Outstanding Personal Tutor Award recognises those Personal Tutors who make time for you and treat you as an individual, show a willingness to listen, advocate your needs, champion and inspire and make a real difference to your University experience.

Faculty of Health

  • Sharon Evans, Nursing and Midwifery - Overall Winner
  • Judith Caboche, Peninsula Medical - Faculty Highly Commended

Faculty of Science & Engineering

  • Louise Firth, Biological and Marine Sciences - Faculty Winner
  • Robert Puschendorf, Biological and Marine Sciences - Faculty Highly Commended


Inspirational Teacher of the Year Award

Awarded to University of Plymouth staff member who shows passion and enthusiasm for teaching and inspires their students to be the best they can be.

Faculty of Arts, Humanities & Business

  • Jon Nash, Humanities and Performing Arts - Faculty Winner
  • Lisa Deblasio, Law, Criminology and Government - Faculty Highly Commended

Faculty of Health

  • Stephen Minton, Psychology - Faculty Winner
  • Annabelle Gorham, Health Professions - Faculty Highly Commended

Faculty of Science & Engineering

  • Matthew Craven, Engineering, Computing and Mathematics - Overall Winner
  • Nichola Harmer, Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences - Faculty Highly Commended


Creative Teacher of the Year

This award is given to someone who thinks outside the box when delivering the curriculum by incorporating a number of different teaching methods, effectively engages students and keeps them interested in what is being taught.

  • Paul Lawrence-Young, Biomedical Sciences - Winner
  • Kenneth Kingston, Biological and Marine Sciences - Highly Commended


Most Dedicated Project/Dissertation Supervisor of the Year

Completing a large project or a dissertation can be one of the biggest sources of stress for a student, the Award for the Most Dedicated Project/Dissertation Supervisor goes to a member of staff who has been by your side to support and guide you throughout.

Faculty of Arts, Humanities & Business

  • Rania Naguib, Plymouth Business - Faculty Winner

Faculty of Health

  • Xinpeng Dun, Peninsula Medical - Overall Winner

Faculty of Science & Engineering

  • Charly Braungaudt, Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences - Faculty Winner


Placement Support of the Year

The Placement Support Award is awarded to someone who has made a significant positive impact on your placement. This can be either a year out placement, part of your course, an internship, or summer placement.

  • Louise Mole, Health Professions - Winner
  • Paul Lawrence-Young, Biomedical Sciences - Highly Commended


Support Staff of the Year

Supporting students throughout their time at University can make a world of difference. The One in a Million Support Staff Award recognises those members of support staff who, in any shape or form, aid students to make their lives and their student experience better.

  • Glenn Harper, Biological and Marine Sciences - Winner
  • Shaun Lewin, Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences - Highly Commended



Course Rep of the Year Award:

The Course Rep of the Year Award is awarded to a Course Rep who has gone above and beyond to ensure that the student voice is truly heard and acted upon.

Faculty of Arts, Humanities & Business

  • Liz Staples, Plymouth Institute of Education - Faculty Winner
  • Pascale Chilvers, Plymouth Institute of Education - Faculty Highly Commended

Faculty of Health

  • Ellis Pearce, Health Professions - Overall Winner
  • Maisie Hinds, Peninsula Dental - Faculty Highly Commended

Faculty of Science & Engineering

  • Annabell Mears, Engineering, Computing and Mathematics - Faculty Winner
  • Thalia Pelegrin, Biological and Marine Sciences - Faculty Highly Commended


School Rep of the Year Award

The School Rep of the Year Award recognises those Reps who go above and beyond to make time for students and form a clear link between the student body, the Students’ Union and the University at a School and Faculty level.


Part-Time Officer of the Year Award

The winner of this award will have made time for students, used appropriate and tailored methods to proactively collect students feedback – feeding the outcome back to the students they represent.



Congratulations to all our award winners, highly commended and nominees for this year's awards, your efforts are incredible and greatly appreciated!

Thank you to all those who took the time to nominate in this years SSTAR Awards, your nominations mean a lot to the people involved and makes their efforts so worthwhile.

Our awards ceremonies will be shared through our Social Media and YouTube channel in the coming weeks so make sure you follow us!


Learn more about the SSTAR AwardsClick here