Update: Students' Union Awards 2020


This year we’ve received over 300 nominations for the Students’ Union Awards 2020. These awards help us to celebrate our amazing achievements as a community and recognise those students and groups who have gone above and beyond to make the lives of other students and people in the wider community better. They’ve done this through volunteering, fundraising, championing causes, offering support to others and helping others to develop and improve. 

In light of the current circumstances we will be unable to celebrate these people in the way we usually would, in a face to face event, but these nominations will not go to waste and we will be celebrating and sharing details of the winners virtually on Friday 15th May. 

Find out more here.

The following students, groups and projects were nominated by their peers to receive an award in this years Students’ Union Awards. 

Please note: this is a full list of those nominated, all nominations have been shortlisted and then taken to a panel made up of University of Plymouth students and UPSU staff for consideration to decide the winners. 

Congratulations to everyone nominated and thank you for your hard work this year, a further thank you to all those who took the time to nominate someone to thank them for their contribution. 

Dedication to Volunteering Award 

  • University of Plymouth Tennis Club
  • Plymouth Marrow
  • Samuel Fifield 
  • Timmy Ajibode 
  • Benjamin Nixon 
  • Nikolaos Arkoulis 
  • Tamsin Isaac 
  • Levi Dawson 
  • Lydia Carter-Mackie 

Student Group of the Year Award 

  • University of Plymouth Amateur Dramatics 
  • Wilderness and Expedition Medicine Society 
  • Ghanasoc 
  • Plymouth Marrow 
  • Plymouth Cardiology Society 
  • Tropical Island Society 
  • University of Plymouth Tennis Club 
  • Big Band 
  • Plymouth Night Patrol 
  • Biomed+ 

Contribution within the Community Award 

  • Nikolaos Arkoulis 
  • Elizabeth Binks 
  • University of Plymouth Tennis Club 

Student Leadership Award 

  • Rewan Ashby 
  • Anastasiya Unnikrishnan 
  • Cara Baer 
  • Ben Fletchen 
  • Rachael Palmer 
  • Catherine Jones 
  • Michael Cox 
  • Lucy Longbottom 
  • Nikolaos Arkoulis 
  • Frances Atienza Benstrong 
  • Diane McClements 
  • Idrees Zafar 
  • Nancy Dowman 
  • James Hywel-Davies 
  • Rachel Horrell 
  • Elliot Dymond 
  • Samip Pokharel 
  • Emily Adlam-Cook 
  • Charlie Martin 
  • Henry Hewer 
  • Hollie Lowen 

Outstanding Contribution to UPSU Award 

  • Ropafadzo Mugadza 
  • James Hywel-Davies 

Student Personality of the Year Award 

  • Chelsea Lewis 
  • Keeley Greenall 
  • Grainne Roberts 
  • Lucy Longbottom 
  • Daniel Frost 
  • Frances Atienza Benstrong 
  • Fergus Longbottom 
  • Hollie Lowen 
  • Cara Baer 
  • Matthew Makranczy 

Student Led Project/Event/Campaign of the Year Award 

  • Come Out Active for LGBTQ+ Equality in Sport (University of Plymouth Tennis Club) 
  • BUCS Fleet Race Championships (George Kennedy and Joseph White, University of Plymouth Sailing and Powerboat Club) 
  • Marrow Valentine Auction (Plymouth Marrow) 
  • Winter Campaign in aid of Devon Mind (University of Plymouth Amateur Dramatics) 
  • Special Olympics (Cara Baer, Student Led Volunteering) 
  • Naked Calendar (Plymouth Marrow) 
  • Plymouth Cardiology Society (Idrees Zafar) 
  • Raise and Give (Emilia Dowse) 

Fundraiser of the Year Award 

  • University of Plymouth Tennis Club 
  • Tropical Island Society 
  • Plymouth Marrow 
  • Imogen Thorpe 
  • Nancy Dowman 
  • Zoe King 

Club of the Year Award 

  • University of Plymouth Volleyball Club 
  • University of Plymouth Tennis Club 
  • University of Plymouth Netball Club 
  • Sailing and Powerboat Club 
  • Archery 
  • Men’s Football 
  • University of Plymouth Swimming and Water Polo Club 
  • Plymouth Underwater Hockey Club 
  • University of Plymouth Pole Dancing Club 

Staff Choice Award 

  • Mike Cox (Raise and Give) 
  • Levi Dawson (University of Plymouth Tennis Club) 
  • Emma King (Archery) 
  • Oluwatimilehin Ajibode "Timmy" (Give It A Go Register and Session Activator, Intramural Volunteer and International Students Part-Time Officer) 
  • Adam Chambers (Student Led Volunteering) 
  • Emilia Dowse (Raise and Give) 
  • Tiegan Phillips (Swimming and Water Polo) 
  • Harry Levene (Snowriders) 
  • Abi Gilbert and Cara Baer (Student Led Volunteering) 
  • Elsa Armstrong Ortega (Cer Soc, Art Soc and Peer 2 Peer Trainer) 
  • Ben Nixon (Community Volunteer) 


Half and Full Colours

We'll also be awarding Half and Full Colours as normal this year to recognise those students who've gone above and beyond in their contribution to the student experience this year. Due to the high volume of nominations we've received for these categories we haven't listed all those nominated but we will be announcing the names of those awarded on Friday 15th May.