Student Elections 2023: The Results

Written by: UPSU


Voting is now closed and the results are in.

On Friday 3rd March at 6:30pm we announced the results for the Student Elections 2023. The Student Elections are an important time of year where the study body elects the leaders for next year. As a democratic and student-led organisation it is extremely important that the student body choose who leads them and the student body. 

Scroll down to meet your new Sabbatical Officer team for 2023/2024.

A huge thank you goes out to every single one of the 2465 students who voted in this year's Elections and a massive well done to all of the candidates who have worked so hard this week to campaign for your votes.


You can view a full breakdown of rounds of voting here:


VP Wellbeing & Diversity:

Number of votes cast: 1988
Votes required to be elected: 994

  • Daniella Marley: ELECTED - 1078 votes
  • Jerome Abraham Ogbeide – 597 votes
  • Ashish Suresh Tiwari – 236 votes
  • Sharon Felix – 21 votes
  • Reopen Nominations - 26 votes



VP Activities: 

Number of votes cast: 2034
Votes required to be elected: 1014

  • Isla Symons: ELECTED - 949 votes
  • Thalia Stinton – 790 votes
  • Ugochi Edith Nkwocha – 349 votes
  • Reopen Nominations - 13 votes



VP Education:

Number of votes cast: 1871
Votes required to be elected: 935.5

  • Darcie Jones: ELECTED - 1107 votes
  • Kit Towner - 425 votes
  • Neil Paul Cummins – 224 votes
  • Joseph Havers – 88 votes
  • Reopen Nominations - 27 votes



Number of votes cast: 2219
Votes required to be elected: 1109.5

  • Tonari Arikekpar: ELECTED - 1023 votes
    Sam Ashton – 736 votes
  • Oluwabukunmi Omotosho – 468 votes
  • Sandesh Shettigar – 48 votes
  • Re Open Nominations - 31 votes



School Rep Elections

School Representatives are at the centre of the academic representation system within their respective school. They support the Course Reps and assist in progressing feedback from programme to school level. School Reps meet with their Faculty Lead and the VP Education, where needed, to progress any feedback from students to the Faculty or University through the appropriate channels.


School of Society and Culture Rep

Megan Williams: ELECTED – 210 votes
RON – 10 votes


Plymouth Business School Rep

Imhonikhe Audu: ELECTED – 198 votes

RON – 15 votes


School of Nursing and Midwifery Rep


Mustafa Janneh: ELECTED – 199 votes

RON – 12 votes


School of Biological and Marine Sciences Rep

Katie Thiessen: ELECTED – 220 votes

RON – 3 votes


School of Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences Rep

Adam Holt: ELECTED – 120 votes
Ryan Everett – 87 votes
RON – 9 votes