What are School Representatives

School Reps oversee the work of the course reps and support them in their role. They are at the centre of the academic representation system within their respective school and will attend various committees and meetings while encouraging their course reps to attend the necessary events too.

School Reps also focus on encouraging their peers to complete various surveys and promoting elections and award nomination periods. For example, NSS, SSTAR Awards, UPSU Elections so that feedback within their school is as comprehensive as possible.

UPSU support these academic reps through training and guidance to make the changes you want to see.

 

How to become a School Rep.

School reps are elected via an online election run by the UPSU Student Voice Team.

The main elections for 17/18 School Reps will be held in March 2017. During these elections there will be a nomination period, this is where anyone interested in becoming a School Rep will nominate themselves for a position and submit a manifesto. After the nominations period there is a voting period. Voting is open to all students.

  • Nominations open on Monday March 13th at midday and closes Friday 17th at midday.
  • Voting opens Monday 20th March at midday and closes Friday 24th at midday

Why become a School rep?

  • Free training for your role
  • Free hoody to make sure everyone knows who you are
  • Gain skills that look great on your CV
  • Earn Student Voice Recognition Awards with the hours you record for your work
  • Can be added to your HEAR record once you gain a Bronze Award
  • Meet new people and make new friends
  • Become the voice that really makes academic changes for a better student experience

Being a School Representative and your HEAR Record

In order for you work as a School rep to be recognised on your HEAR record you must record 20+ hours through the hours logging system. 

How to Log Your Hours

Current School Reps

Faculty of Arts & Humanities

Plymouth institute of Education

Maja Smith - Plymouth Institute of Education

Maja Smith

maja.smith@students.plymouth.ac.uk

School of Art, Design & Architecture

William Styles - Arts, Design & Architecture

William Styles

william.styles@students.plymouth.ac.uk

School of Humanities & Performing Arts 

Danielle Noble-Devenney

danielle.noble-devenney@students.plymouth.ac.uk

Faculty of Business

School of Tourism & Hospitality

Agnes Morgan - School of Tourism and Hospitality

Agnes Morgan 

agnes.morgan@students.plymouth.ac.uk

School of Law, Criminology & Government 

Connor Malone

connor.malone@students.plymouth.ac.uk

Victoria Boruta

victoria.boruta@students.plymouth.ac.uk

Plymouth Business School

Daniel van Cleak - Plymouth Business School

Daniel van Cleak

daniel.vancleak@students.plymouth.ac.uk

Graduate School of Management

Mayukha Abeyratne

ekanayaka.abeyratne@students.plymouth.ac.uk

Faculty of Health & Human Science

School of Health Professions

Emma Wallis - School of Health Professions

Emma Wallis

emma.wallis@students.plymouth.ac.uk

School of Nursing & Midwifery

Lucy Murley

lucy.murley@students.plymouth.ac.uk

School Psychology

Shannon Kowalski

shannon.kowalski@students.plymouth.ac.uk

Faculty of Science & Engineering

School of Marine Science & Engineering

Bidhan Tamang Bamjan - School of Marine Science & Engineering

Bidhan Tamang Bamjan

bidhan.tamangbamjan@students.plymouth.ac.uk

School of Biological Sciences

Noor Al-Wattar - School of Biological Sciences

Noor Al-Wattar

noor.al-wattar@students.plymouth.ac.uk

School of Computing, Electronics& Mathematics

Ryan Skidmore - School of Computing, Electronics & Mathematics

Ryan Skidmore

ryan.skidmore@students.plymouth.ac.uk

School of Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences

Vacant

Plymouth University Peninsula Schools of Medicine & Dentistry

School of Medicine

Alexandra Buckle - School of Medicine

Alexandra Buckle

alexandra.buckle@students.plymouth.ac.uk

School of Dentistry

Lewis Crosby - School of Dentistry

Lewis Crosby

lewis.crosby@students.plymouth.ac.uk

School of Biomedical & Healthcare Sciences

Arron Jackson - School of Biomedical & Healthcare Sciences

Arron Jackson

arron.jackson@students.plymouth.ac.uk

 

Resources