What are School Representatives

School Reps oversee the work of the course reps and support them in their role. They are at the centre of the academic representation system within their respective school and will attend various committees and meetings while encouraging their course reps to attend the necessary events too.

School Reps also focus on encouraging their peers to complete various surveys and promoting elections and award nomination periods. For example, NSS, SSTAR Awards, UPSU Elections so that feedback within their school is as comprehensive as possible.

UPSU support these academic reps through training and guidance to make the changes you want to see.

 

How to become a School Rep.

School reps are elected via an online election run by the UPSU Student Voice Team.

The main elections for 17/18 School Reps were held in March this year. The students elected during this period can be found below. Student voice will be holding a by-election to fill the remaining vacant potisions. The dates for these elections are below. During these elections there will be a nomination period, this is where anyone interested in becoming a School Rep will nominate themselves for a position and submit a manifesto. After the nominations period there is a voting period. Voting is open to all students.

No elections are currently running
  • Nominations open on Monday 2nd October at midday and closes Friday 6th at midday.
  • Voting opens Monday 9th October at midday and closes Friday 13th at midday.

Why become a School rep?

  • Free training for your role
  • Gain skills that look great on your CV
  • Earn Student Voice Recognition Awards with the hours you record for your work
  • Can be added to your HEAR record once you gain a Bronze Award
  • Meet new people and make new friends
  • Become the voice that really makes academic changes for a better student experience

Being a School Representative and your HEAR Record

In order for you work as a School rep to be recognised on your HEAR record you must record 20+ hours through the hours logging system. 

How to Log Your Hours

Current School Reps

Faculty of Arts & Humanities

Plymouth Institute of Education

Abby Williams

abby.williams@students.plymouth.ac.uk

School of Art, Design & Architecture

VACANT

School of Humanities & Performing Arts 

Danielle Noble-Devenney

danielle.noble-devenney@students.plymouth.ac.uk

Faculty of Business

School of Law, Criminology & Government 

Chloe Lintern

chloe.lintern@students.plymouth.ac.uk

Plymouth Business School

Oliver King

oliver.j.king@students.plymouth.ac.uk

Abigail Rivers

abigail.rivers@students.plymouth.ac.uk

Faculty of Health & Human Science

School of Health Professions

VACANT

School of Nursing & Midwifery

Lucy Murley

lucy.murley@students.plymouth.ac.uk

School Psychology

Victoria Hunt

victoria.hunt@students.plymouth.ac.uk 

Faculty of Science & Engineering

School of  Engineering

VACANT

School of Biological & Marine Sciences

VACANT

School of Computing, Electronics & Mathematics

Ryan Skidmore

ryan.skidmore@students.plymouth.ac.uk

School of Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences

VACANT

Plymouth University Peninsula Schools of Medicine & Dentistry

School of Medicine

Charles Markham

charles.markham@students.plymouth.ac.uk

School of Dentistry

VACANT

School of Biomedical & Healthcare Sciences

VACANT

 

Resources